Silvermine Tavern Under Renovation
Since 1929, the Silvermine Tavern has been a landmark in what is known as the Silvermine Center Historic District recognized on the “National Register of Historic Places” in June 2009, and a well-known destination for special events and dining experience in a picturesque setting, which has inspired famed filmmakers, artists, cartoonists and writers.
Silvermine Tavern was also well known in the community for their Sunday Brunch and “honey buns"; once a mill, the structure was turned into a restaurant and inn in 1929 and operated by John Byard. He was a renowned antique dealer and expert on Colonial-era furniture in the United States, a consultant to historic museums and owner of the original barn now the Silvermine Guild of Artists and other properties, including what is now known as the John Byard House, the Silvermine Country Store and the Silvermine Tavern. He was the husband of the artist Dorothy Randolph Byard.
Since 1929, Silvermine Tavern changed several hands. Between 1973 and 2007, the last owners, Frank and Marsha Whitman, have managed the tavern and other historic buildings like the inn and the country store, overlooking the mill waterfalls on the Silvermine River.
Brian Griffin, vice president of the Greater Norwalk Chamber of Commerce, called Silvermine Tavern "one of the true New England taverns that we have left in the area, and it's absolutely a part of the neighborhood.”
At the present time, the property of Silvermine Tavern and Inn, which was sold in 2007, is undergoing extensive renovation. On the former ample parking lot the new owner/builder has built a barn to be used as community center and farmer's market and four 1.8 or more million dollar homes designed to complement the historic environment and ambiance, which the community is so fond and proud of.
In fact, Silverminers are following the progress of the Silvermine Tavern renovation with curiosity and interest and looking forward to relaxing and enjoying a glass of wine, live jazz or a good meal “al fresco” on the tavern’s patio, as they once did, over the years.